Skip to content

New to BG/D&D

Greetings, to start I'll say that although I'm new to D&D gaming I have some knowledge of the mechanics. Just no friends interested in tabletop gaming.

So I got hold of BG:EE to satisfy my urge.

But I'm a bit confused as to what class I should choose for my first character.

In my RPG's that allow the choice, I either play a pure Mage or a mix of Mage and archer.

My recurring character from every game I've played is an Elven Mage whose primary concern is herself. In terms of BG, the Wild Mage kit suits her best. But from what I've read it would be an exercise in masochism to learn this game as a Mage.
Likewise with a multiclass thief/Mage (for the spells and archery).

Is this assumption correct?

Should I just suck it up and roll an Archer?
If so, is there much benefit to 18/00 strength over anything less.

DJKajuruJuliusBorisovMetallomankcwisemashedtatersBrer_Rabbit

Comments

• DreadKhanDreadKhan Member Posts: 3,857
    Archers are superb in BG1. Longbows are very solid in BG1. As 2nd ed Rangers, Archers have 2 free pips in TWF, meaning a very good str is actually handy if you get into melee, though good archery and stealth should make this very unlikely in BG1.

Mages are tougher to learn, very much moreso the Wildmage, which makes reloading pretty near required; spells can have very unpleasant unintended effects, so maybe don't start out as a Wildmage...

A pretty good character is a gnome Fighter/Illusionist thats specialized in archery. Straightforward and powerful.
    JuliusBorisovkcwise
  • JuliusBorisovJuliusBorisov Member, Administrator, Moderator, Developer Posts: 22,714
    Hello and welcome to the forum!

For your first character you should try the concept you want the most. If you really want a mix of mage and an archer, make an elven fighter/mage multiclass.
    kcwisemashedtaters
  • dunbardunbar Member Posts: 1,603
    Greetings!