Skip to content

Elves get +1 to hit with 2-handed swords

MatteoTuriniMatteoTurini Member Posts: 105
edited July 2013 in Fixed
I tried to search for this on the forum, but I couldn't find a thread about it. If it's already been reported or dealt with, sorry!

I've noticed this behaviour in vanilla BG1 when I started playing it 12 years or so ago. I don't know if any mod addresses it.

CURRENT BEHAVIOUR: elves receive a +1 bonus to hit when using 2 handed swords.

DESIRED BEHAVIOUR: elves should not receive the bonus; they should (as for pen and paper rules) only receive it when using long swords, short swords and bows.
Post edited by Balquo on
Oxford_GuyForse

Comments

• MatteoTuriniMatteoTurini Member Posts: 105
    edited November 2012
    Actually, I thought only about BG1, when writing this report, but I remember now that BG:EE will use BG2's engine. So I loaded it up, and it seems that the bonus to hit is applied to a wider range of swords than in pnp (I've tried with 2 handed, katana, long and short).

I may understand kantanas and other 1-handed swords (though I'm not sure the bonus is used as intended, in this case), but I think 2-handed swords are not what the pnp designers had in mind.
  • bigdogchrisbigdogchris Member Posts: 1,336
    edited November 2012
    From 2E handbook:

"When employing a bow of any sort other than a crossbow, or when using a short or long sword, elves gain a bonus of +1 to their attack rolls".

That sounds like the +1 bonus for swords should only be applied to long swords and short swords, as identified per their proficiency. Scimitars/Katanas/etc. should not receive this bonus.
    Oxford_Guy
  • Oxford_GuyOxford_Guy Member Posts: 3,729
    Well that would change my planned two-handed sword wielding fighter/mage build for BGEE... But it does sound like changing the sword bonus to just short and long swords (although I can see a case for other one-handed swords like scimitars and katanas too) may be more correct