Skip to content

"Maybe this time" [NO-RELOAD THREAD]: "The Tale of TEN THOUSAND Trials"

Comments

• Corey_RussellCorey_Russell Member Posts: 996
    Congrats Enuhal! Hopefully your band of misfits can keep up their good work in BG 2. I would think it would be a bit easier in BG 2, in part due to some of the powerful weapons (helping things like Thac0), but also more powerful spells and summons. BG 1 is the real slog with a true random party.
    Wise_GrimwaldJuliusBorisovlolien
    As an aside about random parties, I've ran them at least a dozen times, but only once did one of my parties make it into Amn.
    JuliusBorisovBlind_Visionarylolien
  • EnuhalEnuhal Member Posts: 920
    Thanks Corey_Russell. I have some experience with randomized parties in BG2 (2 of my randomized triology attempts did make it to BG2 before, but more importantly, I used to do randomized parties in a BG2+ToB-only challenge and once had success), and in my opinion, while BG2 isn't as painful as early BG1, there are still some relatively tough stages: Early BG2 is still quite hard if you're used to normal parties, so I'll have to go for the easiest quests possible, and some enemies with high physical damage like golems can be especially rough - but as you say, if you get some of the more powerful equipment, things get easier.
    The one thing that doesn't really get better are the hp scores, so I basically try to play as if I'd be playing on insane difficulty, which is fairly accurate, since decent characters might have double the hp my party currently has. Luckily, the fact that I have an arcane spellcaster this time does negate many of the usual problems a randomized party tends to face in BG2 and especially ToB.
    lolien