Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Categories

New Premium Module: Tyrants of the Moonsea! Read More
Attention, new and old users! Please read the new rules of conduct for the forums, and we hope you enjoy your stay!

[v1.98] Shadow Magic

11718192022

Comments

  • Necromanx2Necromanx2 Member Posts: 1,086
    Thanks AionZ! Since I have work arounds for both issues I will keep playing along.
    Appreciate you looking into this!

  • SkitiaSkitia Member Posts: 308
    edited May 2019
    This is another mod on the to-try (Or at least, to look at list). It's also one I'm considering to use for an alternate class for Vienxay for BG:2, so long as the thief multi-class can be maintained, in some future update. Story-wise I want her to fall between SoD and BG2 into using the shadow-weave entirely and lose her connection to the weave so it could be a cool option for it depending on its seamlessness.

    Of course I also want her to become closer to her actual character in Neverwinter Nights and put in an option where she can be redeemed and loses her connection to both weaves and almost all magic, becoming only a shadowdancer, so it depends how easy it is to change her class midgame, I guess.



  • RaduzielRaduziel Member Posts: 4,716
    AionZ wrote: »
    @Necromanx2

    Still cannot reproduce either issue. The Show Details button is just a perma-TAB, I have no idea what relation it would have to anything script-related. Mazzy is fine after the sequence. This is very likely a mod compatibility issue. It looks like Mazzy has some sort of F/C kit which I don't have installed which may have something to do with that problem.

    Mazzy as a F/C is a DoF's feature but I don't see how this can mess a cutscene. Nothing but her class/kit is altered, so any script targeting her DV should behave exactly as it is.

    @AionZ do your mod make any check for Mazzy's class/kit?

  • OlvynChuruOlvynChuru Member Posts: 2,431
    edited May 2019
    @Skitia
    Skitia wrote: »
    This is another mod on the to-try (Or at least, to look at list). It's also one I'm considering to use for an alternate class for Vienxay for BG:2, so long as the thief multi-class can be maintained, in some future update.

    You can already do this. Shadow Magic includes multi-class kits for the Shadow Adept, including a Shadow Adept/Thief.

  • SkitiaSkitia Member Posts: 308
    Sweet, more mods to test after I'm done with my SoD projects then.

  • Snow_RevolSnow_Revol Member Posts: 5
    edited May 2019
    Not sure if its a new/old bug and im still reading the whole convo (just past where you revealed the apprentice locations lol) but my Mage/Cleric Kit when I leveled to 3 as mage4? as cleric and gained second level spells and an extra first level spell at same time it glitched out endlessly having me attempt to learn/add a new shadowweave spell but I was already at the NEW cap for level 1 shadowweaves because I used the rank 1 scroll (not not the second or third yet cause didn't have access to that level yet lol). even paused and quick saved/loaded a few times between its attempts to teach me a new spell in the window. cancel w/o selecting a spell didn't free me, selecting a red X Spell of all 9 levels didn't end it, I finaly EEKeepered the quicksave, deleted my newely learned shadow spell, and relearned thru the pop up menu and it finaly let me be free again. im going to make a few more random chars and console XP them to attempt to recreate it and see if its just early levels, gain new spell level, etc. if the extra shadowweave scrolls we buy from the merchant are useless to use before max level or when you havnt learned all the free spells from the level yet should have a warning/notice or such for the dialog that teachs them from the scroll vs the sorcerer like spell selection you use now for level 1 and level ups.
    Edit: will make test those chars tomarrow. crashing for the night because been at it to long already lol.

    Edit2: Derp. did some more testing, even with import/exports of extra scrolls (or EEkeeper, tried and used both) it works fine. the problem was I changed my spells (and innated the hell outa my chars cause im lazy) and somehow that broke the menu until I had fewer then it expected and could learn up to the listed maxium for level. not sure if the scrolls or the pop menu is the part that's the beta, but if you get more shadowspells then expected thru eekeeper and maybe other mods or sources it will glitch out till you only have the standard. the scrolls might currently work because they use a different system(and the menu doesn't even recognize they were used, but it does remove the spell(s) learned from the possible options) so they don't directly conflict even if they also don't communicate.

    Post edited by Snow_Revol on
  • AionZAionZ Member Posts: 3,034
    @Snow_Revol

    Hi there, thanks for trying the mod out!

    Yeah, you need to be careful if you’re editing the spellbook with the new spell learning component installed. The number of spells known is very important and having an incorrect amount will tend to lead to these issues. It tends to be worse if you have more spells than allowed rather than less, but both can cause problems. This is why I doubt the system will be integrated as part of the core unless the genius modders who founded the system manage to figure out more tricks.

  • kjeronkjeron Member Posts: 2,137
    Snow_Revol wrote: »
    the problem was I changed my spells (and innated the hell outa my chars cause im lazy) and somehow that broke the menu until I had fewer then it expected and could learn up to the listed maxium for level. not sure if the scrolls or the pop menu is the part that's the beta, but if you get more shadowspells then expected thru eekeeper and maybe other mods or sources it will glitch out till you only have the standard. the scrolls might currently work because they use a different system(and the menu doesn't even recognize they were used, but it does remove the spell(s) learned from the possible options) so they don't directly conflict even if they also don't communicate.
    The Spell Selection system is the beta, it keeps track of how many spells you know and how many you should know, as specified for the kit. The shadow scrolls have an extra bit of coding added to track them, so they can add spells without counting towards the spells known limit.
    Right now the best I can offer if your adding spells through EEKeeper, you should be able to block the spell selection in this mod from counting that spell if you also add a LOCAL variable to the creature (opcode 309), using the resref of the spell as the variable string, and setting the value to "2". You can do this through EEKeeper or in-game through the console.

  • Snow_RevolSnow_Revol Member Posts: 5
    kjeron wrote: »
    The Spell Selection system is the beta, it keeps track of how many spells you know and how many you should know, as specified for the kit. The shadow scrolls have an extra bit of coding added to track them, so they can add spells without counting towards the spells known limit.
    Right now the best I can offer if your adding spells through EEKeeper, you should be able to block the spell selection in this mod from counting that spell if you also add a LOCAL variable to the creature (opcode 309), using the resref of the spell as the variable string, and setting the value to "2". You can do this through EEKeeper or in-game through the console.
    nah like the system mostly and its well balanced, if I realy need/want more spells ill just make/copy the scrolls now for learning and keeper for removing since they safely work. and that you guys already have all levels 1-9 possible if not for sale lol.

  • southfla79southfla79 Member Posts: 194
    tiny request (so I can be lazy and not have to do it on every install)....can you extend the .2da class files to level 50? c0sadept.2da, c0sadep3.2da, c0sadep2.2da, c0sabard.2da all stop at 40.

    Flashburn
  • AionZAionZ Member Posts: 3,034
    @southfla79

    I thought the only difference is that you might get two less uses of Shadowstep? I'll throw in updated class .2da files next update regardless.

  • Snow_RevolSnow_Revol Member Posts: 5
    quick question since my continued reading seems to fail to find it, does the Orb to become Shadow Adept exist as a buyable/lootable item in BGEE and BG2EE? wanting to RP someone becoming one by accidently crushing the orb but couldn't find a location for it if it is placed anywere in game or is it console/EEkeeper access only? wanting to try multi's but as shadow adept multis not the special multi kits (because some items cant be used by the Multi's cause they are not adepts lol) cant remember exact ones and I randomly add a lot of them that arnt in bgee/bg2ee from keeper lol. like the eyes of sharans or such? doesn't give the stats that I can figure out in bgee at least but that's probably because its a bg2ee item etc lol.

  • AionZAionZ Member Posts: 3,034
    @Snow_Revol

    But the multi-class kits can use the special items just fine though...?

    The Shadow Orb is available in BG1 via miniquest and will be in BG2. Anything that's not available in BG1 will be available when the BG2 quest & stronghold component is out.

  • AionZAionZ Member Posts: 3,034
    edited June 2019
    v1.96
    • Improved kit functionality
    • Tentatively added compatibility with mods that remove/alter specialist restrictions
    Okay, well... good news, I think. At least until someone finds some crippling problem that forces me to roll back the changes. If you know absolutely nothing about the particulars of IE coding, disregard the below. This is just a log of my experiences playing with usability flags today.

    Basically, no more dummy kits (essentially a kit that has nothing and just changes to the proper kit when chargen is complete), and I think mage specialization mods should be compatible now. Basically, spells can be flagged to be restricted to more than mage kits. If mage spells are flagged as restricted from a kit that can never learn them under any circumstance, whether it be multi- or dual-class, say... Totemic Druid, for example, and then the SA kits are coded to use the Totemic Druid's usability... boom, no more Write Magic, everything else appears normal, and the kits get through chargen just fine.

    Restricting mage scrolls is easy, just add opcode 319 flagged with the kit, or in this case, the Specifics flag.

    There are already potential problems I can see though. For starters, anything that modifies the vanilla mage spells will probably end up changing the restriction flags back, so the mod will need to be installed as late as possible. Same with scrolls, though I think the odds of this being the case are lower. Additionally, the usability in particular is obviously not meant for a mage kit. I used Totemic Druid (0x08000000) in this case because it's a relatively safe choice with no unique restrictions with armor or weapons, but if someone, say... modded Totemic Druids to be restricted to leather, well... now these kits will suffer the same restriction despite not being druids at all. That said, I don't know of any mod that actually does that at the moment, so it shouldn't be an issue.

    Gusinda
  • AionZAionZ Member Posts: 3,034
    edited June 2019
    The intelligence bonus is probably too strong for how easy it is to get Intelligence points throughout the game - stat tomes, Arcane Lore, Potions of Genius, Mind Focusing, etc. How does this alternative sound?

    INTELLIGENCE
    1-2: -5 casting speed penalty
    3-4: -4 casting speed penalty
    5-6: -3 casting speed penalty
    7-8: -2 casting speed penalty
    9-10: -1 casting speed penalty
    11-16: Nothing
    17: +1 1,2nd level spellslot
    18: +1 3rd level spellslot
    19: +1 1,2,3rd level spellslot
    20: +1 4,5th level spellslot
    21: +1 4,5,6th level spellslot
    22: +1 6,7th level spellslot
    23: +1 7,8th level spellslot
    24: +1 9th level spellslot
    25: +1 9th level spellslot

    Yeah it seems like extra spellslots actually work now using my current stat bonus method. The main draw is that temporary INT boosts won't be very useful since they'll expire once you rest and you lose the spellslots.

    Post edited by AionZ on
  • FlashburnFlashburn Member Posts: 1,739
    I think the caster level bonus can stay, it's just the casting speed bonus that is currently too good.

  • subtledoctorsubtledoctor Member Posts: 11,467
    edited June 2019
    Huh. Interesting. My research into this had led me to the conclusion that spell exclusion flags only worked for certain kits - e.g. they don't work with flags for kits that do not actually cast spells. I thought the arcane flags didn't work with divine-caster kits, and vice-versa... but I got all this from some discussion at G3 from a few years ago. Beamdog might have improved their function in the 2.5 patch.

    My testing indicates (and, uh, @kjeron indicated to me) that if the spells are excluded from some kit X (like Totemic Druid), then your mage kit must have that kit flag plus a mage specialist flag. So my "bard" kits, in the mage class, use 0x00800200 - Enchanter + Skald. Then whatever spells I want excluded from them, I tick the Skald exclusion flag. This is fairly simple in Weidu:
    // define spell access
    //
    // restrict access from schools of... necromancy, evocation, conjuration, wild
    // ...and restrict all 8th/9th level spells
    // need kits to have the usability flag for both a specialist kit and the skald kit
    // spells just need to be restricted from skalds
    COPY_EXISTING_REGEXP GLOB ~^.+\.spl$~ ~override~
      READ_SHORT 0x1c spell_type
      PATCH_IF spell_type = 1 BEGIN
    	READ_BYTE 0x25 spell_school
    	READ_LONG 0x34 spell_level
    	READ_BYTE 0x20 bard_excludes
    	PATCH_IF spell_school = 7 	OR 		//	necromancy
    			spell_school = 6 	OR 		//	invocation
    			spell_school = 2 	OR 		//	conjuration
    			spell_school = 9 	OR		//	wild magic
    			spell_level = 8 	OR
    			spell_level = 9 	BEGIN
    	  WRITE_BYTE 0x20 (%bard_excludes% BOR ~0b10000000~) 		// unusable by skalds
    	END
      END
    BUT_ONLY
    
    And then I change the Skald entry in kitlist.2da from 0x00800000 to 0x00004000. (There are no items in the game with specific Skald usability.)

    If the Totemic flag is working for you, that's great. If it gives you problems, you might want to use the Blade flag instead, since 1) to my knowledge, there are no items in the games or any mods that use the Blade flag, and 2) it's an arcane casting kit so it should definitely work (I have extensively tested the Skald flag).

    This would be so, so much easier if they extended opcode 180 to work with spells as well as items...

  • kjeronkjeron Member Posts: 2,137
    edited June 2019
    My testing indicates (and, uh, @kjeron indicated to me) that if the spells are excluded from some kit X (like Totemic Druid), then your mage kit must have that kit flag plus a mage specialist flag. So my "bard" kits, in the mage class, use 0x00800200 - Enchanter + Skald.
    I think this has since been fixed - the specialist flag doesn't appear to be required anymore. Though I wouldn't rule out coincidence, there may be specific circumstances that require it.

  • AionZAionZ Member Posts: 3,034
    v1.9.7
    • Intelligence bonus changed to bonus spell slots
    • Shadow Orb may be used by kitted characters and retains skills
    • Added Mass Lesser Drain Vitality, Mass Drain Vitality and Mass Greater Drain Vitality

    FlashburnZaghoulGusinda
  • Necromanx2Necromanx2 Member Posts: 1,086
    edited June 2019
    @AionZ I have a question. If I install the new 1.9.7 and I also have the add bonus spells to Mages & Sorcerers from TnB (@subtledoctor) will the bonus slots double up?

    EDIT: Is it possible to make the ability boosts an optional component? I feel the Shadow Adept and Shadow Disciple are so strong (and you keep adding great spells) that giving them all the INT, WIS, and CHA bonuses feels like overkill.

  • AionZAionZ Member Posts: 3,034
    @Necromanx2

    Yeah probably. I'll look at the TnB scaling and decide which should take priority.

  • Necromanx2Necromanx2 Member Posts: 1,086
    @AionZ Is it possible to make the ability boosts an optional component? I would like to be able to not use the ability boosts.

  • Snow_RevolSnow_Revol Member Posts: 5
    edited June 2019
    @AionZ just upgraded from 1.9.4 (thinking that I hadn't a few times cause the info on Int when I click it hadn't changed, but realized slots appeared) but also realized all my characters with multikits lost the kit, and even EEkeepering them back on they are not recognized as a shadow adept for items or even for mr quest shop.
    made a new mage/thief nightblade and questman and items recognized it, but somereason the spell selection broke. for a plain shadow adept it stopped after 2 spells on creation, but the selection is trying to get a new mage/thief to add a 3rd that's impossible. like it did when I screwed around with spells in EEkeeper before, but this is literaly brand new with nothing changed at all. tried with high int 11 int and even 9 int but it kept going (I used ctrl+j and map explore to jump maps quickly between the forced pause/convos of the spell selection to test the quest guy lol) going to test other multikits and such and see if I can find some commonality. will also test a high int shadow adept which I didn't test, just average(cause I spent 0 time rerolling these guys lol)

    Edit1: f/m/t f/m/c f/m m/t all had same effect havnt tried bard or sorc yet. unlearning the shadowspells (from eekeeper or from wizard tome right click) caused it to refresh and select spells to learn(including removed/unlearned from right click) and ended the loop for some reason. first time had removed one, did not work, had removed one and identifiy didn't work, removed all and worked, just removed shadow and it worked. going to continue testing. after all this tho ima go and uninstall my few mods (isra, aura, mage gear selection thingy mod(makes some staffs that are ranged possible etc) shadow magic your multikit mod and warlock) and see if maybe its something on those lines. might try and clean install after, but my download rate SUCKS and BG aint small lol.

    Edit2 Sorc and bard worked fine. seems its something breaking with the multiclass kits. and your mod is the only one I have that does this. well also your mod of multi kits I think but i mainly noticed cause of shadow magic and the fact that humans could multiclass with it lol.
    since my saves are broken anyhow ima undo all mods and redo them with shadowmagic last like before and see if it happens still.

    Edit3: apparently was something breaking because of me updating. using the weido's to uninstall all, redoing the dlcmodmerge because of sod then installing the mods again and the multi class works fine once more (also the stat info no longer mentions the negatives or bonuses for the magic stats but they still exist it seems)

    Post edited by Snow_Revol on
  • Grond0Grond0 Member Posts: 5,735
    @Snow_Revol your last post got stuck in our spam filter for a few hours. That was a result of your account not being verified as a genuine user - I've now done that, so you shouldn't get the same problem in future.

  • Necromanx2Necromanx2 Member Posts: 1,086
    @AionZ I installed 1.9.7 on BGEE and found I no longer see what INT, WIS, CHA do by clicking in the abilities. It is back to the vanilla descriptions.

  • subtledoctorsubtledoctor Member Posts: 11,467
    edited June 2019
    Necromanx2 wrote: »
    @AionZ I have a question. If I install the new 1.9.7 and I also have the add bonus spells to Mages & Sorcerers from TnB (@subtledoctor) will the bonus slots double up?

    I don't know how the Shadow Magic bonus slots are coded, but I suspect it will not play well with TnB bonuses. TnB gives up to 2 extra spells per level, up to level 7 for wizards, up to level 6 for bards, and up to level 5 for sorcerers. Notably, TnB increases those values in the base spell tables by 2, and then subtracts slots if your stat is low. So a Shadow Magic sorcerer with high CHA would get 2 extra spells, and would then get the Shadow Magic bonus.


    What I suppose we could do is, if TnB is installed last and finds the Shadow Magic kits, apply a 2-slot penalty to them.

    And If Shadow Magic is installed last and finds MOD_IS_INSTALLED ~tomeandblood.tp2~ ~160~, it should apply the same 2-slot penalty. (For the mentioned spell levels.) That will make sure they work together regardless of install order.

    (EDIT - maybe worth mentioning, this is only an issue for spell slots. The stat bonuses in Scales of Balance already excludevthe Shadow Magic kits.)

    Post edited by subtledoctor on
  • Necromanx2Necromanx2 Member Posts: 1,086
    edited June 2019
    @AionZ created a Shadow Disciple in BG2EE with 1.9.7. A 16 CHA gives me a +4 penalty on all saves. 15CHA has nothing add/subtracted to saves.

  • Necromanx2Necromanx2 Member Posts: 1,086
    Just tried the Shadow Enforcer (Elf F/M/T) in BGEE and I get no innate abilities (like day penalty outside) and the spell pick doesn't activate so I can't pick shadow spells. This was with 1.9.4.

  • AionZAionZ Member Posts: 3,034
    Fixed the issues with Charisma and Lore for the bard kit.

    RaduzielZaghoul
Sign In or Register to comment.