Skip to content

Baldur's Gate III released into Early Access

Comments

• SkatanSkatan Member, Moderator Posts: 5,352
    mlnevese wrote: »
    Skatan wrote: »
    I'm not so keen on the whole "cutification" I see sometimes, where monsters etc have the over-dimensioned heads and eyes and look more cute than scary. The gnome mind flayer being an obvious example of this.

If mind flayers are now canonized to "breed" via taking over a host body and now also perhaps taking the form of them, then it kinda messes up all previous interactions we've had with them since they were then always of "human" form even if they were encountered in Underdark and probably breed from Deurgar or Swirfneblins. But I'm no expert on lore, so I might be mistaken here.

Mi[ndflayer have always been able to infect non-humanoid creatures. The result is not a mind flayer though but an abomination of some sort, depending on the base creature.

Aha, I had no idea. Seems a bit weird that only the humanoid Illithids band together to form communities, especially in the Underdark where I assume then that all Illithids must then be sprung from Drow (though Drow are a fair bit shorter, right?). But I'll stop analyzing this now and just accept it's just another one of the classic star trekifications.
    mlnevese
  • KamigoroshiKamigoroshi Member Posts: 5,870
    edited September 2019
    (though Drow are a fair bit shorter, right?)
    Drow in the Forgotten Realms can be as short as dwarves, give or take a head. So, yeah, Drow are the midgets of the pointy ears (Maztica's Poscadar elves on the other hand being the sole race member with a heigh exceeding that of humans).