Skip to content

Large List of Usability Improvements

jeremy1015jeremy1015 Member Posts: 4
edited November 2013 in Feature Requests
Hi guys -

For your consideration, a list of suggestions that would have a major impact on the usability of this interface. None of these are "fun", the focus is strictly on improving UX of system. I know that to call this a laundry list would be a bit of an understatement, and I'm a software engineer so I understand that some of these will be a heck of a lot harder than others, but the BG UI is very outdated - I don't mean the graphics, I mean the playability.

Please consider these as improvements that would cement this as the only version worth having.

*** Inventory Screen ***

* Multiselect items in inventory
* "Bag All" option on inventory screen - put everything in a player's inventory into a bag.
* "Give All" option on inventory screen - give all selected items to a player.
* "Auto Hand Off" options - players looting an item would automatically give items to a class that can use them if they can't.
* Icon indicating whether a given spell can be written to a mage's spellbook without having to do multiple clicks to figure that out.
* Mouseover on armor and weapons would indicate changes to stats compared to current equipped weapon (i.e. -1 THACO, +2 damage) for identified items.
* Improve Bag of Holding interface: sortable data grid as described in Buy/Sell Interface Section
* Other bags should be sortable by type as well

** Looting **

* A "grab all" button
* Showing everyone's inventory in range when you loot. The screen real estate is there. Let us drag and drop.

** Journal **

* Ability to mark quests as active (see main gameplay screen section)

** Bottom Bar **

* More quickslots at higher resolutions.

** Basic Pain in the Butt Solutions **

There are some things about BG that have become fairly annoying as time has moved on. I don't think any of these are unbalancing: