Skip to content

My own characters vs. characters in-game...?

I am very new to Baldur's Gate: Enhanced Edition, and I have heard that the character situation is a bit different than Icewind Dale, as in its possible to make my own characters as well as recruit ones that I find in game. My question is.... how many characters should I make pre-game, and how many character slots should I leave open for characters found in game?

Comments

• jmerryjmerry Member Posts: 3,829
    The "standard" style is to make one character - the Bhaalspawn. Every other party member will be someone you pick up along the way, from Imoen approaching you right out of Candlekeep to characters that you can't even meet until chapter 5. I've had some concepts that called for a second PC (like my werewolf run), but I've never gone beyond that.
    There are special perks that go only to the first character you create - abilities earned after the end of each chapter tied to that divine heritage. On the flip side, if that character ever dies, it's a game over. Other characters can die and be raised as many times as necessary.

These recruitable NPCs interact with each other and have some of their own quest content - less so than in BG2, but there's still some. The EE characters (Dorn, Neera, Rasaad) have more quest content, including unique areas in the latter two cases.

To make things a little easier on you, all NPCs you recruit in BGEE get a catch-up trigger on first joining, increasing their XP to 2000, 4000, 8000, 16000, or 32000 - whichever benchmark your protagonist has passed. You don't need to worry about new recruits falling too far behind the rest of the party.
    (Or, alternately, you could game the system and play solo up to 32K XP, then recruit a party and face the rest of the early content with a level advantage. Not recommended until you know more about where the easy XP is, but it's powerful.)