Skip to content

Musicians

ImperatorImperator Member Posts: 154
Just wondering whether there are other people of the musical disposition here. So, what instrument(s) do you play, how long have you played, on what level (subjective opinion on skill level, hobby/profession) and do you have any aspirations to be a proper musician?

I myself am a guitar player, have been playing for six years. Occasionally I'll dabble with a bass guitar as well. I have two guitars, both Ibanez's, GAX30 and RGD320. Both are cheap models, and the RGD comes with a Floyd Rose -copy. I also have a Harley Benton bass. My amplifier's a cheap-o as well, Marshall MG30DFX combo. Don't have any other gear, not even a foot-switch (yeah, I'm cheap). Lately I've been thinking about getting a Pod for recording stuff, but I don't know whether the cheaper models are of any use.

On skill level I would say average, a bit sloppy and I don't play solos. Of theory of music I have no knowledge, and I have no intention of fixing that any time soon. Somehow it feels that knowing what I'm doing might limit me.

The style of music that I listen to and play don't seem to meet very often. I listen to metal, but for some reason most of the stuff I make comes out as pop-rock with slight prog-elements. It would be nice to get a band and maybe actually finish the songs that I've started on guitar, but don't have the skill to add other instruments.

The floor is yours.
MedullaOblongataCluaslolien

Comments

• BelgarathMTHBelgarathMTH Member Posts: 5,653
    @Imperator, nice thread idea. Are classical musicians welcome?

I've played band instruments since I was in seventh grade (I'm 47 now). My professional instrument is the viola, and I played in my local professional part-time symphony for about 14 years, from age 18 to age 32 or so.

I have two degrees in music, and I teach music for a living, both band, and private violin/viola lessons.