Skip to content

New Player Combat Help/Tips

TheSaviourTheSaviour Member Posts: 4
edited December 2012 in New Players (NO SPOILERS!)
Hello, this is my first time playing baldur's gate, and these sort of RPG's... and am having a bit of trouble with the combat.

1. in the group combat tutorial, i equipped the wand but when i click on it at the quick slot and then the enemy, nothing happens, they are also sitting at the back not being attacked.

2. I tried running some scripts on my characters but some worked but particularly on my own character, he just wouldn't respond and just stood there unless i gave him an order while 5 people wailed on him, despite me choosing a script that makes him attack if being attacked.

3. When choosing a weapon, i do not get what I am looking at for damage, can someone explain to me what that is?

thanks, any tips for a beginner would also be helpful
Post edited by Jalily on

Comments

• Ulfgar_TorunnUlfgar_Torunn Member Posts: 169
    Wrong section, try moving it to "Help for New Players: No Spoilers".

1. I have no idea why this isn't working. Check to make sure that the spell targeting icon appears after using the quick slot.

2. The scripts sometimes reset after you turn the AI off. Just make sure that AI is on and try resetting the script every time that you turn it off.

3. Are you asking about the damage notation? Such as "2d4" or "1d6+1"? The fist number is the number of dice being rolled. The second number is the number of sides on each dice. The "+1" or whatever is a flat bonus added after it is rolled. Therefore 2d4 means 2-8 damage, 1d6+1 means 2-7. This is simply inherited from PnP D&D, as are all the rules.

If this doesn't help you just look at the damage listed on the inventory screen.

Some general tips:
    Save often.
    Don't play on easy.
    Save potions and scrolls until you really need them.
    Make your main character a tank.