Skip to content

Help me with a patch?

CerevantCerevant Member Posts: 2,314
Ok, I'm a complete newb when it comes to modding, but I'm starting to feel my way around. I found the cause of a bug (GNOLL5 challenge in AR5200) and am trying to fix it, but the game isn't behaving as I would expect. Either I'm missing some detail, the Near Infinity doesn't work properly with BGEE, or some other mystery... Anyone able to prod me in the right direction?

So, the bug is that in the DLG it uses the Global GnollFightOver=1 when it wants to fight, but the BCS uses it to mean that the challenge is in progress. I decided to leave it as defined in the DLG, so that I wouldn't have to change GNOLL5A (companions). Here's what I've done so far:

GnollFIghtOver is undefined at the start of the encounter. I have the DLG set it to 0 when there is a challenge (new), 1 when there is a fight and 2 to indicate the challenge is over (last two were already there). I also changed the triggers for the end of the challenge to check for 0 instead of 1.

The source for the BCS is now:

IF
See([PC])
AttackedBy([GOODCUTOFF],DEFAULT)
Allegiance(Myself,NEUTRAL)
THEN
RESPONSE #100
SmallWait(5)
Enemy()
END

IF
See([PC])
NumTimesTalkedTo(0)
THEN
RESPONSE #100
Dialogue([PC])
END

IF
HPLT(Myself,20)
Global("GnollFightOver","GLOBAL",0)
THEN
RESPONSE #100
Dialogue([PC])
SetGlobal("GnollFightOver","GLOBAL",2)
EscapeArea()
END

IF
HPLT(StrongestOf,5)
Global("GnollFightOver","GLOBAL",0)
THEN
RESPONSE #100
SetGlobal("GnollFightOver","GLOBAL",1)
Dialogue([PC])
END

I think the first block covers the case where you initiate a fight outside the challenge. The second block initiates the first dialog. The third block is where it is failing:
I start the challenge
I start attacking
If I start a conversation with Ludrug, he has nothing to say
I confirm with CLUAConsole that GnollFightOver is 0
I continue to attack him until I do more than 10 damage (he has 30HP to begin with)
I move away and stop attacking