Skip to content

New to Baldures Gate Need some Assistance Please

LPMalakyeLPMalakye Member Posts: 5
edited November 2012 in New Players (NO SPOILERS!)
Hello Everyone,
First I would like to say I am new to Baldur's Gate (but I have amazing things about it) but giving that it is Dragon Age Origins true predecessor I am very excited to see what it has to offer. I would also like to state that besides a few 3.5 D&D games I have no idea of the rules and how to play D&D either. So as you can imagine even the character creation screen starts to confuse me on what to do and what the options mean or do.

I am not sure how I should do this so ill just get straight to the point and my questions by listing them...

1. When it comes to Race are there any considerations I should take into mind being a noob? Example: Are certain races more difficult to play than others? Will choosing a certain race give me more skill points upon leveling up? etc.

2. There are many classes to choose from which would benefit me for an overall easier first time run of the game? I know you meet your party members as you travel but like in Dragon Age Origins you only had one Healing Mage and she didnt come to a bit later in the game leaving you to rely on potions and such so for me it was beneficial to make my main character a healer for early to mid game. Also what is the difference between Multi-Class and I believe its called Dual Class? and what are the benefits and Cons for each?

3. Alignment...I am not quite sure how to say this properly but...Will my alignment or a party members alignment effect how other party members view me/the party? If so what are the repercussions of that? Will party members leave, attack each other etc? Also if I were to max out my party members and switch them out will I be able to recover them later if I change my mind or one dies?