Skip to content

Building a map's resource library from the ground up.

MordeusMordeus Member Posts: 460
I'm fairly new to modding BG so I'm not familiar with the long history of what has already been achieved with map creation. So I'm asking if the following has been attempted or not because after the kitpack I'm working on with Requiem, I'm thinking of contributing some new regions to the game.

Basically what I have in mind is taking pre-existing BG1 maps and cutting out the components of a map via photoshop. I'll be making copies of the trees, roads, houses, bridges, walls, etc.... Then after collecting a sizeable resource library, I'll be able to piece together a map from scratch.

I just spent the last two hours collecting up to 20 different tree assets and by changing the hue of them I have more than I need. I've also started to harvest some terrain graphics that I can use to tile an entire map. Even some road graphics that I can piece into a winding pathway that can flow in any direction I want. BG1 is the perfect game to do this for since most of the maps have been pieced together with repeated graphics, while BG2 has maps that are more specific. For example it looks a bit ridiculous mashing up houses from Baldur's Gate, the Trademeet and Athkatla, it just doesn't look convincing.