Skip to content

Stealing, getting caught, and alignment.

I'm fairly new to this game and i have a few questions surrounding alignment, stealing, getting caught and treasure chests.
Ok so first things first does stealing change your alignment or does any choice you make effect your alignment, I have played many games in which your alignment changes based on what actions you take such as stealing and while i dont think that occurs in this game i want to be sure.
Second i have been caught once stealing something i didnt think was going to be considered stealing because i was just interacting with something in a shop so... when is stealing, stealing?
Finally what are the rules on foot lockers and chests etc that are locked is that stealing to open them ive opend a few in broad day light with 2 or so people around and nothing happened if its bad why does no one say "wtf that mine"!?

Comments

• LindeblomLindeblom Member Posts: 257
    Stealing in itself doesn't do anything to your alignment. If someone sees you they will gather guards that confronts you, there can be some different outcome from this but you will probably end up losing some reputation, not a change in alignment.
    Stealing in a store is risky business, IF you get caught the shopowner (and customers) will go hostile and attack you. If you defend yourself and kill them you will face massive loss in reputation. And you will not be able to use that store again.
    As long as the chests are out in the open, in enemy territory or with no one around, I would say it is safe to steal.
  • JalilyJalily Member Posts: 4,681
    There are no alignment changes for stealing or even murder. In the first game, there's an Easter egg item that reverses a character's alignment, but other than that, your alignment is just a static roleplaying guide with little effect other than your starting reputation, the familiar you get (if you're an arcane caster or a beast master), and a few dialogue choices.