Skip to content

A few tips for a total newbie

soulburnersoulburner Member Posts: 12
Wow, this is going to be a bit lenghty, so if you don't want to read, just skip to the numbered questions ;)

First of all - hello!

I am a fan of first person perspective games. Until recently, I pretty much played only first person shooters. I liked Fallout 3 a lot - it was my first RPG game ever. Fallout New Vegas was awesome, TESV: Skyrim was nice but got boring quickly. I was hungry for more Fallout so I tried playing Fallout 1. It was very hard to do it, but I managed it and finished both FO1 and FO2 and loved them so much I wanted to play more of this kind of titles. Also I thought to myself "now I can play all RPGs in the world!". I remember a friend played this ages ago, and she said BG is an easy game...

I've played BG1 for quite a few hours now, but there are a few things that made me kind of lost and I had to give in and ask for help. I don't know what I'm doing :D I read as much as I could to understand Armor Class, THAC0 and other things, but I still need more general help. My party consists of my protagonist character (a fighter, kind of similar to the preset Abdel dude), Imoen, Minsc, Dynaheir, Khalid and Dorn (a good fighter, but he will soon leave me I suspect).

1. Is there any way to improve the journal? Many quests lack enough description and I forgot where exactly to do something and for who... it's annoying to alt+tab all the time to check game guides ;)

2. Which spells should my wizard character learn to make the battles easier? Where to find or buy the right scrolls to make groups of enemies sleep, turn to stone or something, to make them easier to defeat for my wimpy characters? Also, which parameter decides how many times I can use a single spell before the character needs to rest?

3. My main protagonist can't use a bow. But I would like him to do so. Is it possible to learn it?