Skip to content

BG 2 Guidance and Easter Eggs

HeindrichHeindrich Member, Moderator Posts: 2,959
I have just finished my first run of BG EE and imported my charname into BG 2, and recovered from the shocking events at the start of the game…

I can’t believe Dynaheir is dead! She was crucial in the final battle against Sarevok when half my party was dead or magically incapacitated!

Anyways as I find my way out of my starting predicament. I got a slightly odd request to make… I want some advice/hints, but not spoilers to the plot… Let me explain…

One thing that kinda bugged me about BG 1 was that there were things you can do/find that can make your life much easier, especially in the early game, but you’d never think of doing/looking it if you just played without any outside help.

For example, the Firebeard gold trick, the Ring of Magery, Ankheg Plate etc…

When I struggled with BG 1 Vanilla as a total noob, I felt compelled to find a decent walkthrough/guide, which obviously made life a lot easier, but also took something away from the experience. For example when I read a guide to work through the chaotic mess of quests in the city of Baldur’s Gate, the game felt very mechanical and dull as I just follow instructions one by one. In contrast, struggling my own way through Durlag’s Tower and the other quests from TotSC was far more immersive and rewarding.

So… I’d really appreciate it if somebody can just tell me/list the equivalents of
Ring of Magery, Ankheg Plate, Golden Pantaloons
in BG 2, if they still exist, without revealing anything of the plot. I guess some people might think of them as spoilers, but since they have no relation to the plot, I just regard them as easter eggs that I don’t wanna miss out on, but I really don't want to fall to the temptation of looking for a walkthrough again.

Any general advice for my first run of BG 2 would also be welcome.

Thanks in advance.

Comments

• WispWisp Member Posts: 1,102