Skip to content

Back to the beginning

Greetings, Baldur's Gate forums. It has been a long journey but I've finally arrived here.

I cannot believe that I've been playing this game, on and off, for over a decade, but such is its power. On a global level, Baldur's Gate arguably saved RPGs in the West; on a personal level, it introduced me to a wider world. Before I read Lord of the Rings or Game of Thrones, I played Baldur's Gate; before I had any inkling of the worlds of Arda, Westeros, or Tamriel, I was immersed in the rich lore and history of Faerûn. It was my first fantasy, my first RPG, and shall remain foremost in my affections within the genre.

I started playing it in 2002; up til that point my gaming had been largely confined to the strategy and simulator genres, such classics as Sim City 2000, Age of Empires, and the Civilization series. I borrowed it from my best friend, the original six disc set. I would eventually buy the three-disc Tales of the Sword Coast set (twice) and the GoG version, and of course, the EE, so I feel I have paid in full for any EULA violation.

I was initially perplexed by it - superficially the gameplay sort of resembled Age of Empires, in that there were characters on the screen I moved around and attacked other, hostile ones with, except I had to bother with equipping them! But I learned quickly, and went from being puzzled by the mechanics and intricacies to immersed in them. I went through a half-dozen initial characters as I hashed out what worked and what didn't, what was most fun and what wasn't.

Later I borrowed BG2 from the same friend, and initially was put off by it. The chilly reception in Chateau Irenicus was a bit upsetting to me, especially being stripped of the formidable armor and weapons I had accrued up to that. Though I eventually warmed to BG2's masterful second chapter and triumphant end, I never forgave it for that initial insult, and BG1 has always remained my favorite, between the two.