Skip to content

can't decide on a BG2 class to play

i'm new to BG2 (but not 1), so i hope this is still the appropriate place to post.

anyway, i've playced through the intro dungeon about 2.5 times now (once a sorceror, twice as a mage) and feel a little dissatisfied. i think it's a) because i always play as magic-based characters, b) it's hard to see how the characters might evolve at this point, and c) i'm not familiar with the pros/cons of each class.

as far as magic goes, i don't really like playing support-based (i.e. cleric). on my last run through BG1, i had the most fun playing as a heavy spell-caster (Edwin), or my two pimped-out tanks (Shar-teel and an evil dwarf whose name I forget). I also tried playing a multi-class mage/thief but she never evolved sufficiently in either class, which made it boring. do multi-class characters come into their own more in BG2?

I want someone who will offer variety and still pose a challenge, and don't think I could handle doing away with magic entirely. The fighter/illusionist combo sounds interesting; so does the kensai/mage, but does that character have to be played solo to evolve properly? (FWIW, I don't wanna play solo on my first run through).

Comments

• lamaroslamaros Member Posts: 139
    edited September 2013
    Perhaps a Stalker might be fun. It plays as a sneak but also dishes out a bit of damage, and gets a few spells to throw around also. Or a Bard. The Blade starts to come into its own in BG2.
  • blackchimesblackchimes Member Posts: 323
    Avenger.
  • Night_WatchNight_Watch Member Posts: 514
    @doctordog i think the dwarf you're thinking of is Kagain. the only other dwarf i can think of other than him is Yeslick.