Skip to content

Why the code changes?

KenyonKenyon Member Posts: 142
I'm not a programmer or modder, so perhaps someone can enlighten me. You hear the team struggling with the apparently horrible source code of the original, to clean everything up. That's where a lot of their time is going right now. My question is, why? It's not like the game can run much faster on present day computers. What's the advantage for consumers?

Comments

• Awong124Awong124 Member Posts: 2,643
    I think it has something to do with the old code being very restrictive to changes that modders want to do. Supposedly they're changing the code to make it more mod friendly. I think that's at least partly the reason. Someone correct me if I'm wrong.
  • Ulfgar_TorunnUlfgar_Torunn Member Posts: 169
    Moddability. Fewer crashes. Less broken scripting. Resolution and platform flexibility.

The benefit will be minor at first, but if the team makes good on their promise to release numerous and interesting DLC, these changes will facilitate production of new content.
  • CamDawgCamDawg Member, Developer Posts: 3,438
    Porting an engine to new platforms is a lot easier with cleaner code.
  • immagikmanimmagikman Member Posts: 664
    Bad code, and rushed hacks are good to clean up, having clean code benefits everyone that wants to see mods and add ons to follow. It's like having a Ferarri......you wouldn't let it sit covered in mud and muck.
  • KenyonKenyon Member Posts: 142
    All good points. :)
  • jcomptonjcompton Member Posts: 157
    And even for Windows, installing and playing IE games on newer hardware and post-XP operating systems has been a hit-or-miss affair. Modernizing should buy us more time.
  • KenyonKenyon Member Posts: 142
    @jcompton Are you Jason from Pocketplane?
  • jcomptonjcompton Member Posts: 157
    Yes. I certainly hope nobody else would be ridiculous enough to use American Hero Kelsey as his forum portrait.
  • SceptenarSceptenar Member Posts: 606