Skip to content

Enemies Immune to Backstab

I started playing as an Assassin recently and am using backstabs for the first time ever (shameful, I know).

I hear a lot about how enemies are immune to it though. So my question is, what is immune to backstab? I've searched online but was unable to find an actual list.

Comments

• AlexisisinneedAlexisisinneed Member Posts: 470
    Usually Golems are immune to backstabs. Also Dragons...my poor Assassin...
  • LuigirulesLuigirules Member Posts: 419
    Well, if you're playing BG:EE, I don't think you'll have to worry much about that. From what I recall, there are only a handful of creatures in the original game immune to backstab.

It's in BG2 when it gets a bit annoying.
  • mylegbigmylegbig Member Posts: 292
    I'm playing BGT (for Rogue's Rebalancing), so I'm wondering which monsters are immune for the whole saga.
  • ZanathKariashiZanathKariashi Member Posts: 2,869
    edited September 2013
    Most demons/devils, golems, oozes, dragons, beholders.

Basically anything that can innately see through invisibility/stealth is immune (except Kua-tuo, who aren't immune but are too troublesome for it to be worth the effort of setting up a backstab). Or in the case of golem/oozes have no weak points to attack.

Vampires aren't immune, but can partially detect your character and start running around, making it EXTREMELY difficult to pull one off on them.
  • taltamirtaltamir Member Posts: 288
    edited September 2013
    Anything wearing a helmet is immune.
    That is, almost every single humanoid NPC in the game who isn't a mage, bard, or thief. (sometimes they don't give them a helmet for the heck of it, weird because of how cheap and common helmets are)
    Speaking of which, equip all your characters who can wear one with a helmet.
  • ZanathKariashiZanathKariashi Member Posts: 2,869
    edited September 2013
    Helms have nothing to do with backstab, helms block crits, which are totally different.