Skip to content

Saturday Spellcaster Strategies #2: Delayed Blast Fireball

XerxesVXerxesV Member Posts: 187
edited September 2013 in Archive (General Discussion)
I wanted to ask for more advice from you expert adventurers. I've played BG a lot over the past fifteen years, but I'm hardly a power-gamer.

I hate to be one of those new forum members who posts a million threads and becomes a nuisance, so I've decided to limit myself to one discussion each week. I thought that spellcaster strategies was a good topic, so every Saturday I'll post a new thread asking for specific advice.

Last week you taught me a lot about Time-Stop that I didn't know in this thread...
http://forum.baldursgate.com/discussion/21319/best-use-of-time-stop#latests

This week I was hoping you could advise me on the best uses of Delayed Blast Fireball. It's one spell I've never mastered because I can just stock up on regular fireballs. Do you have any particularly good uses for this spell?

PS- i'm new to the thread rules. If you prefer me to post this in "strategies" or not to start weekly discussions please let me know. Also, if the topic has been discussed please tell me where. I want to be a Lawful forum member!

Comments

• elminsterelminster Member, Developer Posts: 16,315
    I guess its good as a trap in its own way. Skull Trap however takes less time to cast and (depending on your level) can end up doing more damage, so I'd probably prefer Skull Trap over Delayed Blast Fireball. I've never really had much use for the spell to be honest.
  • XerxesVXerxesV Member Posts: 187
    edited September 2013
    If eliminster says so I'll take his advice.

To be honest I always used skull trap in the heat of battle too. Maybe I'm looking at these the wrong way...
  • ZanathKariashiZanathKariashi Member Posts: 2,869