Skip to content

Opinions on Baldur's Gate: Reloaded?

I am totally new to Baldur's Gate and D&D as I have already explained in my introduction thread. But over the last few days I have totally fallen in love with the enhanced edition and last night I heard about the Baldur's Gate: Reloaded mod so I immediately went to GOG for NWN2 and bought it - got it for $16.66 for the total bundle. After installing it and running a few errands this morning I was finally able to settle down and give it a try.

Ok, like I said, I am new to these types of games and have fallen in love with this game. And I don't want to insult the mod because it's obvious it was a labor of love. But I can't help but feel a tad disappointed in it, the reason being, it doesn't use the same rule set that is used in BG, nor can you roll for stats. In addition, the UI is clunky and counterintuitive, but that may or may not be because of the engine. The new graphics are nice but also serve to accentuate how lifeless the game is without voiceovers. In 2D it felt natural reading text. Lastly, it just doesn't feel the same. I thought for sure I would love it but I am immediately returning to the EE. For me the mod is a disappointment and a novelty at best.

One good thing I can say is that they used the original cutscenes which I didn't even get to see until recently (the EE edition is my first BG experience). I can already tell the original cutscenes are better. But I digress.

Again, I am new to Baldur's Gate so my opinion don't count anyway, and I know the mod is a labor of love, so no disrespect intended, but I am curious to hear what other fans of Baldur's Gate think about the reloaded mod.

Thanks.

http://neverwinter2.nexusmods.com/mods/794/?

Comments

• StormvesselStormvessel Member Posts: 654
    edited October 2013
    I see. It does seem clunky and badly optimized at that, and I am running twin 6970s. I don't see how anyone played NWN2 back when it was released...how did they manage???