Skip to content

Need help with making an item mod.

RyofuRyofu Member Posts: 268
Hi

i am new to trying to mod with the infinity engine and after an hr plus of unsuccessfully trying to follow the modding guide i have decided to come to the forums to seek help.

I would like to learn how to make an item mod for BG2EE, following the guide i downloaded IEEP, WinBif and Infinity Explorer, however i was unable to find the files exported out with Infexp to the override files with WinBif

I was wondering if an experienced modder could mentor me for a while and help me make a test item to learn the basics of it.

For my test i exported a normal bastard sword SW1H01.ITM to the override folder using InfExp and the following spells Spellstrike and Wail of the Banshee SPWI903.SPL and SPWI913.SPL. My idea was to later mod the Bastard sword to +5 and adding the 2 spell effects on hit to see if it could work. However when i opened WinBif and loaded the chitin.key i could not find the item files in the Items.bif

Can someone who knows how to do this pls help me understand what i am doing wrong?

Regards

Comments

• TvrtkoSvrdlarTvrtkoSvrdlar Member Posts: 353
    I'm seconding this. Anyone have any good links to an item modding tutorial? One preferably explaining how to get your items into the game via an NPC's store?

The ones I've managed to dig up are all (literally!) years old.
  • AlkaluropsAlkalurops Member Posts: 269
    My advice would be to use DLTCEP, the latest version can always be downloaded here. If you don't know how to initialize DLTCEP, read this document. It's a tutorial I wrote, but only the section on DLTCEP applies here.

You probably want to use WeiDU to package the mod & add items to stores without breaking other mods.