Skip to content

Rolling a dwarf

Hello everybody!

I'm contemplating on rolling a dwarf, since my rerollitis has gotten the better of me lately and seems to hinder my advancement with the game. So I thought of doing something radically different: rolling a shorty, which I've never done before. And while everyone seems to agree that shorties are awesome, you hardly see people talking about playing one as a PC. Also every single one of the dwarf portraits screams awesome, so that's a big plus.

I've already narrowed down the class choices. I'm not looking for a powergaming discussion about which of these classes is the most powerful, since I think all 3 of them are quite potent. It's just about which one YOU experienced/think to be the most fun. I'm aiming for some kind of neutral alignment so I won't be limited in party composition. Stats are not that hard to get (18/?? STR, 17 DEX, 19 CON) except for the F/C who's also going to want some WIS - 16 at least? I'm aiming for a good roll but not a 90+ one if it takes too long.

DD: While I'm interested in this one, I'm not sure if it's going to be satisfying to play over an extended period of time. Of course it's going to pack a punch and is able to take a beating, but is there more to it? Seems like a solid choice from a gameplay perspective, but a bit one dimensional. Proficiencies for this class are also set in stone (axes/hammers and two weapon style - missing anything?).

F/C: Obviously the cleric part is going to complement the fighter very well. Divine spellcasting has a lot of uses and gives the character another gameplay mechanic to fiddle around with. I'm not quite sure on the weapon proficiencies, but I guess it's also going to be two weapon style?