Skip to content

What is a good class and build for a total noob.

so what is a good class and build to play to help me learn the game?

Comments

• IcecreamtubIcecreamtub Member Posts: 547
    Depends on your likes and dislikes. ^^

An easy class to play would be a Fighter. ^^
  • EmptinessEmptiness Member Posts: 238
    No matter what class you play as your main character, your party will (ideally) contain members of other classes that fill the roles your main character does not. As Icecreamtub said, a good place to start is Fighter - but what class to pick is less important, in my opinion, than what NPCs to invite to join you. A balanced party is important, and the variety of NPCs available is sufficient to build a balanced party around a main character of any class.
  • PurudayaPurudaya Member Posts: 816
    edited November 2013
    Your party should have at least one mage, one cleric, and one thief (although there are parties that forgo the cleric). The remaining three slots are generally yours to fill as you see fit, but you should probably have at least one character who can absorb hits (tank) and one who can deal high amounts of physical damage. The first time I played through the BG saga was as an unkitted fighter, and it was a blast - so don't worry about which class you pick (except wizard slayer. don't pick a wizard slayer.)

Don't be afraid to move that difficulty slider around a little either if you're struggling :)
  • IllydthIllydth Member, Developer Posts: 1,641
    Ok, lets get a bit more direct. For a first time player, stay away from spellcasters. Spell Mechanics are NOT difficult in the game, but they definitely require a level of micromanagement above other classes. Wizards are worse than Clerics since they require not only spell memorization but finding and inscribing spells in your spellbook.