Skip to content

Question about bows in BG2

I am currently running a single player game of BGEE as an elven F/M/T, with a focus on longbows.

I am going to be started a multiplayer game in BG2EE with 3 or 4 friends, half of which are complete noobs. I would like to either import my F/M/T archer, or at least roll a new bow user of some sorts for it.

I've heard that bows/arrows aren't as good/effective in BG2, and that is fine, but are they at least still good or DECENT? I don't need to be uber, but I will need to be effective since I will be carrying the group a bit.

Also, I've heard that longbows are harder to find in BG2? Should I redo my build to focus on shortbows instead? What are the pros and cons?

Thanks!

Comments

• jackjackjackjack Member Posts: 3,251
    They're not as powerful as they were in BG1, but they're certainly still effective. Personally I prefer crossbows or shortbows.
  • moody_magemoody_mage Member Posts: 2,054
    You can pick up a very nice shortbow which is good for general mobs fairly early on (the Tuigan shortbow which gives +1APR). There are other good shortbows later as well, the Gesen one springs to mind.

Don't expect to dominate like you will have in BGEE though.
  • RealReal Member Posts: 68
    Two main shortbows:

One gives an extra per round. Obtainable very early in the game.

Another fires free +4 arrow that deals bonus electrical damage. This electrical damage stacks with the damage bonuses of your equipped arrows (if you choose to equip any). This stacking is considered to be an exploit since it makes no sense but does increase your damage output. Obtainable late.

There is really only one good crossbow. It fires free magical +2 bolts that deals additional fire damage. Also stacks with the damage and effect bonuses of your equipped arrows. Once again, doing this is considered to be an exploit since it makes no sense. Can be obtained when you actually have the gold for it.

For longbows...