Skip to content

New to BG

Way back i brought Baldur's Gate with Swords of the coast included but never played it, anyway i decided to try BG: EE which i do like the look of, i do have Windows 7 with Guild Wars and Dungeon Siege installed but i really wanted to try out BG:EE as i needed a game to get the old brain working. I really do like the game but can anyone here point me to any good online manuals so i can get into this game, as Dungeon Siege as you may know is more of a hack and slash game and guild was is nice but i really want to get into BG:EE, DD has always interested me. Pleas help i'm a novice at BG.

Comments

• HeindrichHeindrich Member, Moderator Posts: 2,959
    Firstly, welcome to the Baldur's Gate and this forum. :)

I hesitate to refer you to any online walkthroughs precisely because this is your first playthrough, and the only chance that you'll get to play it blind, which is by far the best way to play the game.

However, BG EE is not a simple game, and also not the most beginner-friendly unless you are already familiar with D&D and played Infinity Engine games like IWD and PST. So... I have a recommendation if u decide to play it blind, which I do recommend.

Ask LOTS of questions about whatever you are stuck about on the "New Players (NO SPOILERS)" section of the forum. This is a really friendly and helpful community, and they guided me through the entire full saga playthrough that I finished just earlier this month. Don't be shy, no question is too basic. :)

If however, you don't feel playing blind is important and/or you can't be bothered checking a forum so often, then I will refer you to the unholy link that is easily the best guide for Baldur's Gate, minus the Enhanced Edition content.

http://www.forgottenwars.com/bg1/ (SPOILERS!)

Also a useful website that explains character creation and development very well.