Skip to content

Can a Kensai somehow protect himself from critical hits?

KorlamaqKorlamaq Member Posts: 216
Since he is unable to wear a helmet...
Also is it new that when i dual my Kensai into a Mage or Thief he loses all weapon proficiencies? Isn't he supposed to be super badass when you dual him into a Mage or Thief because he can then wear their armor? What use is this if he doesn't keep his proficiencies... or am i missing something here? Although I've been playing Baldurs Gate for ages I am kinda new to dual/multiclassing so i have no clue about whats good :P

Comments

• meaglothmeagloth Member Posts: 3,806
    When your dual class reaches the level the original class was when you dual led, then you'll get your kensai profs. back. Until then, it a grind. I.E. You dual from kensai at lvl 7 to a Mage, you become a lvl 1 Mage, and when your Mage reaches lvl 7, then you will become a kensai Mage. Until then, your just a Mage. I don't know about the crits, I always wanted to think ioun stones protected, but it don't think they do.
  • FinneousPJFinneousPJ Member Posts: 6,455
    You'll be able to wear other headgear you find later, which seem to block criticals too. I don't know if that's a bug. For a K->M it's not an issue though, since stoneskin, MI, PfMW and other protective spells will shield you also.
  • AranthysAranthys Member Posts: 722
    Ioun stones protect from critical hits just fine.
    Worse case scenario, you can use the King Strohm III Mask if everything else fails, but I believe Ioun Stones are useable by anyone
  • CalmarCalmar Member Posts: 688
    Does the mask do anything? I don't remember it granting protection from critical hits.
    Like I said, it seems like wearing any headgear protects from criticals, whether the description states protection from criticals or not.
  • abacusabacus Member Posts: 1,307
    edited February 2014
    meagloth said: