Skip to content

BG:EE First time player looking for group

SerShadakSerShadak Member Posts: 2
Hey everyone, i'm a EST. player looking for a group to play with. I'm available to play anytime after 4pm everyday. This is my first time playing this game so new and veteran players are definitely welcome! :)

Comments

• HeindrichHeindrich Member, Moderator Posts: 2,959
    edited December 2014
    Heya, welcome to the forum. I guess everyone is busy with IWD:EE now!

A word of advice. In my opinion Baldur's Gate is at its core a single player game, and a first play through is best enjoyed without the interference of walkthroughs and other players. My big three reasons are:

1) It is very much about your journey and your adventure. If you have other players, especially more experienced ones, you will end up getting carried by them cos they already know where to go, what to do, and you lose much of the wonder of discovery.

2) The game is pretty difficult to begin with and the difficulty of coordinating a party with other players can make things really tricky. I love this game, and enjoy playing it multiplayer, but I can objectively say that multiplayer controls are kinda awkward. I have lost count the number of times I have Webbed or Fireballed my companions in my ongoing multiplayer game (ongoing for over a year now!).

3) Other players will likely want to bring their own characters. That means you will miss out on the NPC party members that are a big reason why this game has such enduring appeal.

Once you've done your first playthrough, by all means try to gather a multiplayer group together. It might take some time, but it's certainly possible. As I said, my multiplayer game was organised via this forum, it's still going strong after more than a year. :)

http://forum.baldursgate.com/discussion/27270/the-bhaalspawn-journals-roleplaying-multiplayer-game/p1
    wubbleJuliusBorisovChildofBhaal599CrevsDaak
  • SerShadakSerShadak Member Posts: 2