Skip to content

equipment restrictions and dual-classing/multi-classing

Hi Everyone,

This is my first time posting to the board. I used to play Baldur's Gate here and there as a kid, but was never able to finish it and now I'm coming back to the series in order to correct that.

I've been having fun with a pure fighter, but I am also interested in trying a dual-class or multi-class character. I have a few questions though, and I've not been able to find the answers in the instruction manuals or online. Both have to do with what kind of equipment you are allowed to use.

For instance:

1) I understand that if you dual-class or multi-class with a druid or cleric (as either the first or second class), then the Cleric/Druid weapon and armor restrictions apply across the board, so that even if you are a fighter, you will not be able to use fighter weapons or armor (making grand mastery pointless). This I was able to find online, but I have no idea how the poster knows that, except maybe from experience.

2) I understand that if you dual class into a mage from a fighter, the opposite is true, at least for weapons: once your mage level is higher than your fighter level, you regain your weapon proficiencies and can both cast great spells and have killer abilities with a two-handed sword or any other fighter-specific weapon.

BUT - I have no idea what armor restrictions look like for a Fighter/Mage or Fighter/Thief or, for that matter, a Kensai/Thief. Is there a hard and fast rule that will help me understand how class armor and weapon restrictions apply in these situations? Is it possible to build a Kensai dual class that eventually gets armor? Can you get a mage that casts spells and wears solid armor?

And maybe most importantly, how did you find this out? I've been looking through the instructions (both PDFs) that come with the BeamDog download for BG:EE, but haven't found anything solid.

I hope this question makes sense. Many thanks in advance for your help.