Skip to content

Not going back to basics, going back to fundamentals

AcidWireAcidWire Member Posts: 4
Hi there,

Well, I'm going to be the complete total noob here and ask the dumb questions, but I wanted to know where I could find information about the fundamentals of Baldur's Gate modding.

Here's the premise :
So far, I have used the EE Keeper tool to create "illegal" characters with abilities not meant to be possible in the game. I've been successful to some extent through reading indications provided in the software, and through trial and error. However I quickly realized how limited I was with this method. One example is no matter how I type in Google's search engine the words "Effects, Indicators, Triggers", I can never find info on these parameters in EE Keeper when adding special abilities or effects on my character. Another example : I've wanted to create an item with "on hit" properties like the Studded Leather of Thorns of Throne of Bhaal (this item can be found on Sendai after defeating her), but I haven't been successful. Although EE Keeper makes it easy to locate the .ITM file, I haven't been able to read lines of code or interpreted lines of code to see how such a property could be created on an item by guessing and infering how the code works. I'm sure it can be done though, I'm not sure EE Keeper can do it, but I know that back in the earlier days of Baldur's Gate II, such feats could be accomplished with tools developed over there :

http://www.teambg.org/e107_plugins/newsfeed/newsfeed.php?show.1