Skip to content

Jaheira romance glitch (Love Talk 52) (SPOILERS)

Hello everyone,
I've played through the game many, many times, but this is my first time doing the Jaheira romance. Everything was going fine until yesterday - Dermin had appeared once, warning Jaheira about her actions, and she subsequently left the Harpers. The next few Love Talks went ahead, until I eventually received one three times in a row - the one starting "How... how did that battle make you feel? Did you enjoy it?" Now, as far as I know, Dermin is supposed to spawn after this, and have a chat with Jaheira. This has not happened. About 20 in-game days have passed, and several times I've left the game running while I'm doing something else, so as to reach the next Love Talk. But nothing seems to be working. I've used the console to ensure that the romance is still active, and my Love Talk value is definitely 52. I've done all the necessary quests, including purchasing the locket in the Docks District. Using the console, I also set the DerminSpawn variable to 3, and the DerminAppear to 1, still nothing. I've even tried spawning Dermin with the console, but I can't talk to him. And before you ask, I've been resting & waiting in virtually every area - Athkatla, outside De Arnise Keep, Trademeet, the Temple Ruins... really getting fed-up now. I've completed pretty much every other quest in the game - all I need to do is kill Irenicus, and that's already about 40 in-game days overdue (willing suspension of disbelief is in full effect!).

My question is, does anyone have a solution to this? I know this is a fairly common problem (apparently), but none of the proposed solutions seem to work. I'm also very cautious about setting the LoveTalk variable forward too far. I put it up to 53 at one point, but that didn't seem to do anything.