Skip to content

Differences between BG1 and BG2..?

CleaveCleave Member Posts: 32
edited September 2012 in Archive (General Discussion)
Hello everyone. I never played any DnD games before, and was not familiar with the rules/universe of DnD in the slightest when i started playing BG2 some years ago after i bought a used copy for 10$ in a sale somewhere in a random market where I live.

After spending hours and hours reading everything in the game, from item to magic descriptions, to skills and powers, I was so amazed at the deepness of it all that, to this day, i never had that much interest in any other videogame that comes out... always feeling like "bah, not as cool as BG2".

So I am very eager to finally try BG1, since i really couldn't ever get over the low resolution settings of that game to play it. But I hear from reading these forums that it was a different experience than playing the second one.

So what i'd like to know is what differs between the 2 of em, as gameplay goes.

I hear it has more of an open-world atmosphere..? Anyone wants to clarify that for me? surely it's not like Skyrim where you just pick a direction and walk for hours until you get somewhere..

Also, in BG2 we started out having 4 characters.. do we start alone in BG1?

Any other things i should know maybe? Careful for the spoilers please :)

Thanks!

Comments

• CharlytanCharlytan Member Posts: 27
    What you heard about BG1’s open world is absolutely correct. In BG2, when you wanted move to an area, all you had to do was hit a zone out, then click the destination. The game would then compensate for the time it would take to reach there, and you would load into that area. (Unless waylaid by enemies, and must defend yourself!)