Skip to content

First playthrough, some thoughts

Three parties later and I'm finally through my first EE playthrough of vanilla IwD. My first two parties were certainly good enough to finish the game but as with so many other d&d titles I almost always get the urge to try new classes and combos partway into the game.

My first party had a wild mage, which I've never tried in Baldur's Gate before. And while she certainly was fun to play as, the randomness and wild surges started to get to me. "Oh you wanted a powerfull spell that could turn this battle into your favor? Nope! Have a flock of birds instead." That party got to upper Dorn's deep before I hit the new game button.

Second party ditched the wild mage in favor of a sorcerer whose spammingpowers truly flourishes in IwD. Balanced party, but I still wasn't content. They reached the severed hand.

The party that did finally pull through was a follows:

Dwarven defender - Axe/Shield
Fighter/Druid multi - Scimitar/Sling/shield
Sorcerer
Bounty Hunter/Fighter dual - Longsword/Bow
Berzerker/Cleric dual - Dualwielding Morningstar/Flail
Fighter/Illusionist - Bastard sword/Crossbow

The dwarf was truly the definition of a tank. He ended up with over 160hp and had the fortune of finding an awesome great shield in the hand that raised his physical resistances at the cost of some thac0, which you barely noticed. He also wore the clasp of bron's cloak so whenever he used his defensive stance he had 80% damage reduction.

The druid was pretty straight forward. Spent most of her time next to the tank healing him and ocassionally tossing out some damage spells. Once she got access to the heal spell nothing really had a chance against my dwarf. Not many scimitars to chose from in this game, or I got really unlucky with the random loot.
She used the lucky scimitar all the way to lower Dorn's Deep where she found one on Marketh that gave an addtional apr.