Skip to content

Writing is hard

Writing is hard. I have a degree in creative writing (which makes me qualified to work at restaurants all over the country!), and teach it to high school kids for a living. What I tell them is that the most important tool in a writer's kit is fearlessness. Writing is a part of someone, out there, for everyone to see. It is deeply personal, but also embarrassingly public when you do it for a living. It takes grit. If you falter, doubt yourself for second, and you do it for living, you might not get paid. You have to be tough.

I personally think Amber and Andrew have done a great job. Yeah, there's some sloppiness, but most of it feels genuine, and taps into that BG vibe (which, btw, has some sloppy writing all its own). There are legitimate criticisms here, but many of them are, the most part, overblown and full of vitriol, and, ironically, done with 0 grammar or punctuation.

Whether you agree with what they've written or not, like their style or not, join me in saying thank you to our Beambards. Who here could actually say they could take a name as powerful, as well loved as BG and do even a tenth of what they've done with it? It really is a Herculean task, and they've handled it with aplomb.
IllustairPurudayaArdulbooinyoureyesAutocratRhelnaSids1188craymond727sparkleavkotekoJuliusBorisovjunk11CaradocmashedtatersMarkosHumbleScribeAbelVirelaiNonnahswritercdxFinnTheHumanKrotoslolienSkatanShadowdemonillathidKcoQuidamdrakirMirandelgus100amyaeJarrakulHudzy

Comments

• RawgrimRawgrim Member Posts: 621
    Making changes to Safana and Jaheira was bad. People love those characters despite their flaws. Having Minsc bash a (shitty) community was wrong. He is the one character in BG that would never do that.

Everything else is pretty damn good.
    Grimo88Kitteh_On_A_Cloud
  • KaliestoKaliesto Member Posts: 282
    edited April 2016