Skip to content

Trying and failing to install "pointy hat/face bag/duck helm" by Smiley graphic mod :(

TauschitzTauschitz Member Posts: 2
Trying to get that part of Smiley's hat mod to work that provides the graphics for the "wizards hat" for my son's wizard ... this is with a new installation of BG:EE and BG2:EE.

Unfortunately, I am a total novice in getting this to work, and so far have had no luck, although I've spent the better part of a day trying :(

I know the "pointy hat" mod doesn't have an installer and is simply a "resource package" ... but I don't understand what the means in terms of installing it. Right now, I simply dumped the contents of Smiley's zipped "override" folder into the respective BG:EE and BG2:EE override folders. I have not used the dialog.tlk as I believe that that contains the scripts for the items, which I don't need, given the potential bugs that might crop up using it.

So here are my questions at this point:

1). Am I correct that I simply copy and paste *all* of the "override" files into the "override" folder contained in C:/ GOG / Baldur's Gate - Enhanced Edition / Override ?

As far as I can see, this contains mostly a bunch of *.bam files - and I'm guessing these are the graphic content - but I see some other files in here as well. I've copied and pasted them into the "override" with the *.bam files

2). Am I correct that I do *not* need to use the dialog.tlk file as long as I *only* want to use the graphic content contained in the "override" folder?

3). Most important question ... if 1). and 2). are correct *how do I find the item in the game / get the item to spawn in the game for my wizard?

I've already spent about a day trying to get this to work, so any help would be deeply appreciated.

Comments

• FrecheFreche Member Posts: 473
    I havn't used the mod but if you just want the hat graphics and no text if you inspect it. If you add the bam and itm files to your override.