Skip to content

Moving from BG to BG2

So, I've been playing though BG for about two years now, and *finally* have managed to bring a party all to the end (restartitis having laid all prior parties to rest..). CHARNAME is a human fighter that I intend to dual into druid sometime in BG2 (I had a lucky roll of 96 when I made him).

Now the question is: how do I best carry him into BG2?
I know that some items can be carried over, but does this require that CHARNAME actually wears these items when the final save happens, or is it okay that one of the team members carries it? I'm willing to do the final battle again if necessary.

The next question is of a more technical nature:

I have been playing BG on Android, but for BG2, I want to try out Legacy of Bhaal, as I found the regular difficulty in BG too easy. This means I have to migrate to my windows computer. But how exactly do move my saved game from BG on Android to BG2 on Windows?

I tried this:
I found the ExportSave.bg1save file on my phone and mailed it to myself. On Windows I placed it in this folder:

C:\Users\Jon\Documents\Baldur's Gate II - Enhanced Edition\save
and opened BG2 and clicked 'Import Game'. No dice. I could see my saved BG1 games on Windows, but not my druid-wannabe Fighter.

Then I tried renaming ExportSave.bg1save to ExportSave.zip, extracting it, and copying the two files inside into an existing BG2 save. Opening the modified saved game, BG2 crashed..

So, it seems i haven't got this quite right. How do I do it..?

Comments

• LoldrupLoldrup Member Posts: 291
    Having scaled down my ambitions, I would now be happy if I could just import my saved game into BG2 on my phone. BG2 on my phone has more or less the same version as BG1 on my phone (1.3) so there should be a greater likelihood of success.