Skip to content

Mass Effect 3 - severe FRpS (frame rate per second) wobble on PC: can one fix it?

TStaelTStael Member Posts: 861
My video card is GTX 980M.

I think it is of later issue than Mass Effect 3.

Yet the gameplay of ME3 is so jerky it infects combat, beyond the cut scenes of course.

I dropped the standards to the min but it did not help.

Anyone has a tip how ME3 might not suffer jerky graphics on later PCs?

Comments

• FardragonFardragon Member Posts: 4,511
    You wouldn't be using Windows 10 by any chance?
  • TStaelTStael Member Posts: 861
    @Fardragon - yes, now. But this was also an issue with Win 8.1 earlier... Are you suggesting that this is a systematic issue with post Win7 version of Microsoft OS??

Frankly, this is the first time I've ever suffered this kind of dramatic FRpS drops, and fully understand now why it drives gamers up the wall!
    I don't know, I'm not that technical. I just know everything that uses the GPU has had periodic slowdowns since I upgraded from Windows 7 to 10.
    @Fardragon - thanks for sharing your observations, it is very plausibly the Windows version then, and pretty annoying coming from a major developer.

I'd guess the only hope is that eventual ME 4 will renew interest in the prequels, and hopefully enough fans will complain if this would be a wide-spread problem. I did leave feedback to this effect when asked via Origin.
  • GreenWarlockGreenWarlock Member Posts: 1,354
    EA are terrible at support, preferring you buy their latest and greatest new game, than fixing the old to work on newer systems. The ME series were firmly Windows 7 era when support was withdrawn, so we are on our own (or dependent on Microsoft) for compatibility patches with later Windows.