Skip to content

BG1 -> BG2 -> SOD ooorrrrr.... BG1 -> SOD -> BG2

I realize that chronologically I should play SOD before BG2. However, this is my first time playing. I just completed BG1 recently and I just bought both SOD and BG2. 99% of BG fans played BG2 before SOD because... 15 years...

I'm curious if I should follow what everyone else has done, or if I would enjoy my first play through by going in to SOD before taking a look at BG2.

What are your thoughts?

Comments

• ThacoBellThacoBell Member Posts: 12,235
    I would play SOD before BG2, it foreshadows several things nicely, answers a few small plot holes, has a good story/great antagonist, and the extra exp for doing it gives you a nice boost before BG2 without trivialising it.
    JuliusBorisovRAM021
  • HudzyHudzy Member Posts: 300
    I think SoD would feel pretty odd played straight after ToB. The reduction in levels alone would be off-putting to me.
    JuliusBorisovRAM021
  • PeldinPeldin Member Posts: 46
    Interesting responses. I've been really looking forward to BG2 because of some mild spoilers I've exposed myself to, and it seems that, a majority of people like BG2 more than BG1 (or at least a majority of posts I've read concerning that topic).

I guess I'll be loading up SOD tonight instead of BG2. I've done a little bit of research as far as looking at what carries over from BG1 to BG2 but I haven't done any of that for BG1 -> SOD or from SOD -> BG2 so I guess I now have a little mini project to research before I get off work :)
    ThacoBell
  • mf2112mf2112 Member, Moderator Posts: 1,919
    edited September 2016
    SoD isn't going to be as long of a campaign as BG1 so it won't take you that long to get to BG2. SoD is intended to be around 25 hours of game play I believe.
    RAM021
  • megamike15megamike15 Member Posts: 2,666
    it feels like it's only 12 hours. beam dog may have exaggerated the length. just as bioware had for jade empire and da awakening.