Skip to content

How difficult is it to create an upgradable weapon?

TomeTome Member Posts: 466
Hey guys, I've been toying with the idea of having a 'signature' weapon for my Bhaalspawn this time round that grows with him as the game progresses. I managed the acquisition simply enough in BG:EE, just adding it to the inventory of the Demon Knight at the end of Durlag's Tower and should be able to add it easily to Irenicus' dungeon, so re-acquisition isn't a huge concern for me. However, I have no experience with item upgrades at all and was wondering if it was hard to learn. For context, I'm a pretty terrible modder: I can make functional items using DLTCEP with ease and have made a few kit mods for pre 2.0 that haven't been brought up to date and that is essentially the end of my abilities. I can't use WEIDU at all.

Worst case scenario I can just tweak the item as I go along using DLTCEP, but I'd rather keep it 'immersive' if at all possible so I don't need to enable the console. Thanks for any advice you can offer! :smile:

Comments

• GodGod Member Posts: 1,150
    edited November 2016
    Item upgrades in Infinity Engine games are normally handled by using separate item files for the basic and upgraded item states.

Since you're using the awesomely powerful DLTCEP:
    1. Create a complete set of weapons beforehand, one separate item file for each progressive incarnation of it. Make sure to label them in a way that makes it easy for you to figure out which one is which.
    2. In the Extended Effects tab, add an ability to spawn the next item in the series to each variant except the final one. If you want, make this ability expend the existing weapon. One way to achieve this is to make the upgrade ability consume 1 charge and give the item a 1 charge maximum. This should link your items in a upgrade chain, such that allows you to replace your weapon with the next one at will.
    Should be easy as that.