Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Categories

New Premium Module: Tyrants of the Moonsea! Read More
Attention, new and old users! Please read the new rules of conduct for the forums, and we hope you enjoy your stay!

How to preserve scripts after uninstallation with Weidu?

chimericchimeric Member Posts: 1,163
When Weidu installs a mod, it makes changes in different ways. And they are removed at uninstallation differently. If you add a line to a 2DA or an IDS file, and you already have other custom lines there, the outgoing mod will clear the new additions, but the older entries will remain. But if you EXTEND_TOP of a BCS file, and then uninstall the mod, Weidu will do the most destructive thing possible - pull the copy of the BCS file from the backup folder to override. That version may be outdated by ages, if you have already changed the file in other ways by hand or with other mods. And all of that work will be gone. Instead of pruning the tree, Weidu just chops it down.

I have two questions:

1) What kind of idiot came up with this method of backup?

2) How to uninstall anything, when the old mod you no longer want is standing there with a gun - or more likely a blunderbuss - to your temple?

Comments

  • subtledoctorsubtledoctor Member Posts: 11,466
    edited December 2016
    chimeric said:

    1) What kind of idiot came up with this method of backup?

    Idiots who devised a way to mod a game that was never meant to be modded, and provided a way to uninstall/reinstall safely, without losing data, if you do it right.

    Are you suggesting that other people are idiots because you're doing it wrong?

    (Seriously, I just happened to look at the G3 forum, and someone told you how to do it without data loss, and you said no! It's like driving your car into a lake and then demanding to know what idiot designed a car that doesn't float. Design flaws are not the issue...)

    Weidu backs up files each time it changes them, and upon uninstallation it restores older versions of those files without the changes. To avoid data loss, don't make changes to files after installing a mod, and then uninstall the mod.

    Uninstall, make changes, reinstall. Uninstall, make changes, reinstall. Perhaps not ideal, but not complicated either.

    Post edited by subtledoctor on
    elminsterAquadrizztGrammarsalad
  • yowaveyowave Member Posts: 67
    edited December 2016
    If i am not mistaken, as long as the other mods have been installed with WeiDU , WeiDU will actually reinstall all the other mods in the installation chain, so only the changes that have been made by hand will be deleted.

    So WeiDU is actually working properly, it can't and shouldn't keep track on any changes you made by hand.

    agb1
  • chimericchimeric Member Posts: 1,163
    If this is correct, @yowave , then all is not lost. Thanks!

Sign In or Register to comment.