Skip to content

Anyone play PnP D&D still + Stories.

HoebaggerHoebagger Member Posts: 46
edited September 2012 in Off-Topic
Any of you fine men and women play D&D? I've been playing every week consistently for at least 6 years and on and off for a few years before that. If so, what's one of your favorite stories? Here's one of mine.

Now I'm a bit of an optimizer, but earlier in my career I usually went for fun. I was playing a 3.0/5 Swashbuckler at level 1 and we had tracked an ogre into a cave where he had a little base of operations that included 4 goblin lackeys. I took up position behind our Dwarven fighter with my hand resting on his back while one of our party members (in Goblin) attempted to seduce the Goblins through the door.

They got really interested real quick and when they opened the door our Wizard cast something that made the door explode (I believe it was something from the red covered compendium of spells, but not the Spell Compendium) killing all of the goblins. Well the Ogre didn't take too kindly to that so he dashed out suddenly.

In the panic I pushed the dwarf prone out in front of the Ogre. The Dwarf still had initiative, but his weapon had gone flying. His only recourse was to attempt a grapple, but do to his height and position there was only a few options. So that Dwarf grappled a loincloth the likes of which I've never seen before in my life.

He hung on for dear life and started attacking with a light weapon when he could. Meanwhile we repositioned and one of our party members threw a Javelin for a crit that brought him down. I couldn't let them have the glory so I (going after that party member) stabbed it on the way down with my rapier and claimed that I did all the work. On our way back into town I started making a big deal about how great we were and actually rolled a 20 on my diplomacy. The DM meanwhile rolled a 1 on the townspeople's effort to resist my showboating.

Thus began the saga of Hoebagger.

Comments