Skip to content

Bard Kit or Fighter/Thief

Hello everyone,

I am new to BG and have been going back and forth on what class to choose for my PC. When playing games, I normally like to create a pc that is more varied than just a sword and board warrior type so that he can fit into different roles and different party configurations. I have had the game for a week now and have not made it past the first forest you start in because I am horrible at committing to what I want to be (although I think it is reasonable to be sure before spending too much time and starting over). I initially tried stalker, shapeshifter, and monk, but after reading a bit online those seemed to not be ideal, especially for a new player.

Finally, I think I have settled on either a bard, or one of its kits, or a fighter/thief multi class. I typically like playing a thief based backstabbing character, so the added durability and fighting skills of the fighter/thief is appealing. However, I also like the idea of a bard due to the ability to fill different roles and to stand back and buff everyone. The blade and Skald kits definitely seem interesting. Does anyone have any advice on which would be best for my pc?

Comments

• MadhaxMadhax Member Posts: 1,416
    I haven't played a bard in a while, but having just completed my first BGEE run with a fighter/thief, I can attest that they're great fun to play as. Having a PC capable of scouting and backstabbing means that your PC will be an integral part of any battle, unlike PCs that hang in the back and aren't always useful. And I like my PC to be constantly useful.

I've heard that Skald's are very powerful, but since there's no "lingering song" effect in the BG series, your PC would be constantly delegated to singing. Seems like it would be boring. Blades certainly have a more active role in combat, though, and I intend for my next PC to be a Blade.
  • CaptRoryCaptRory Member Posts: 1,660