Skip to content

Bounty Hunter Help

I'm interested in playing the thief class and the Bounty Hunter seems interesting to me. Is it viable as a bounty hunter to stealth and back stab and then spread traps around in BG:EE? If it is viable how should I allocate my thief skills?

Thanks!

Comments

• mement0mement0 Member Posts: 105
    I can not tell you about stat allocation as I am no expert in min/max.

However from personal experience I can tell you that killing enemies primarily with traps can be somehow tiring gameplaywise. The traps are rarely ever enough meaning that you have to rest again and again. But if you are willing to do so then even dragons can fall easily (in BG2).

Also I should warn you that some undead take reduced damage from slashing and piercing weapons. Which means that backstab might be effective on undead but the restrictions on damage still apply.

Not sure if it can lead you to a more powerful build but maybe the most experienced players can help you with a better Bounty Hunter/Fighter dual class.
  • ZanathKariashiZanathKariashi Member Posts: 2,869
    edited January 2013
    Yeah, that's pretty much it. A Bounty Hunter is just a normal thief who gets twice as many traps per day, but slightly fewer thief points per level to compensate. After 16 they diverge, since the special traps will no longer deal damage. The 16-20 trap sucks..just flat out, but the 21+ is awesome and combines well with the epic traps you start earning shortly after. A Normal thief on the other had pretty much stops developing at level 13, while the Bounty hunter continues to meaningfully advance (same for the Assassin).

It's hard to tell someone how to spend their points, since it depends on your race and dex score where you need to stick things.