Skip to content

Single File Mod Format (benefits iPad, Android, and everyone else)

NifftNifft Member Posts: 1,065
edited February 2013 in Archive (Feature Requests)
Hi. As an experienced programmer, I'd like to suggest a format for BGEE and BG2EE mods which will help mods, help hot-fixes, and generally be better for everyone.

Here's the format:
- ZIP file named with the Override file structure for mods ("modname.mod"); and
- ZIP file named with hot-fixes for both Override mods and the core game ("modname.fix" or "bg1core.fix").
- Mod ZIP files will include a file named "modname.txt", which will have a list of language prefix to UTF-8 strings describing the mod file*.
- "whatever.fix" will be loaded as a hotfix for "whatever.mod", allowing modders to provide hotfixes for their mods.
- "bg1core.fix" will be loaded as a hotfix for the vanilla game.

Format Specifics:

Filenames:
.../override/modname_1.2.3.mod
.../override/modname_1.2.3.fix

Contents (same for .MOD and .FIX files):
./metadata.txt - a key-value file for metadata

name="My Mod Stack Name"
description="This stack comprises my best attempt to combine KitFix, DevineRemix, the BG1NPC beta (2013-03-03) and my own ease-of-use hacks. Blah blah blah..."
... whatever other metadata needs to be stored ...

./lang/ - like the current "lang" folder
./lang/de_DE/
./lang/de_DE/dialog.tlk
./lang/en_US/
./lang/en_US/dialog.tlk
etc., etc.
./override/ - can you guess?
./override/kit.ids
./override/kitlist.2da
etc., etc.

Migration Path:

Stage 1: Add support for .MOD / .FIX files.
- Keep support for existing Override folder files.

Stage 2: Deprecate "old-style" mods once new-style .MOD and .FIX format is working.
- If old-style use of the Override folder is detected, pop up a warning.
- Post instructions on your website about how to zip up an old-style Override folder.

Stage 3: Exclusively support new format.
- Any files other than .MOD or .FIX in the Override folder cause a warning, but are otherwise ignored.