Skip to content

Reputation/Alignment suggestions (if BG3 comes about).

To preface this, I'm just going to try to include my own issues and arguments regarding the current reputations system. (also I'm a math teacher so forgive things like Cartesian plane, quadrants to refer to the alignments etc. Also being a teacher means i'll try to at least have some comedy in here since we all know sitting in front of a wall of text is the most rewarding experience on earth!) Also forgive the fact I don't know how to underline to make it look prettier and more organized.

I have always considered the reputation system in BG to be not only lacking, but detrimental to the roleplaying experience that BG represents. The primary reason for this is the dual alignment system used in D&D (chaotic/lawful + good/evil) combined with the singular alignment system used in BG (reputation). You can actually trace the line that reputation uses by just going from Chaotic Evil -> True Neutral -> Lawful Good. There was the slightest attempt to tie the other alignments to reputation by using party happiness, but as all the meta/power gamers would inform you, that does not accomplish the goal that was intended.

Also, alignment is RP gold when implemented correctly. What your character does in a given situation should be determined by the way you want your character perceived. Or your character should be perceived based on what actions they take. Chicken, egg, and all that.

More than that though, comes the question "does it make sense?" So lets look at a few scenarios:
1) Right now I can take a rep20 lawful good paladin into a thieve's den and get a massive discount on goods. Does it make sense? Aww these guys just love me. (no)
2) I can walk through the game doing all sorts of lawful and good acts and my chaotic neutral friend here will have no complaints. Does it make sense? um... guess his alignment cares more about his friends than his selfishness. (still no)