Skip to content

Ironing out my Sorcerer build

I've never used a Sorcerer before, but I'm planning one for my next play through. I'll be playing with the canon party, so there are certain spell picks (i.e. remove fear) that can be covered by other spellcasters. There will be a period in BG2 where the Sorcerer will be the only arcane caster. That is, just after the prologue to when I get Imoen back. But, I read some guides on the web and tweaked them to what I think would work with this party. Of course, it's all open to discussion.

Side note, I am planning to max out Int and Wis to get the most out of the Limited Wish/Wish spells.

But, this is what I'm thinking of picking and the order in which I plan to pick.

L1
Friends (He's going to be the party face)
Spook
Chromatic Orb
Protection from Evil
Magic Missile

L2
Mirror Image
Invisibility (I use this more than any other second level spell)
Melf's Acid Arrow
Blur*
Vocalize*

*These two I picked mostly because I couldn't think of anything else to put here.

L3
Remove Magic (Vicky will have Dispel in BG2)
Skull Trap
Slow
Haste
Flame Arrow

L4
Fireshield (Red)*
Greater Malison
Stoneskin
Improved Invisibility
Polymorph Self

*Everyone really talks up this spell, but I never have my spellcasters in melee so I don't know what the big deal is.

L5
Breach
Lower Resistance
Spell Immunity
Animate Dead (this will be picked at L15 so I'll have skeletal warriors right away)
Sunfire

L6*
Protection from Magical Weapons
Protection from Magical Energy
True Sight
Chain Lightning
Death Spell

I'm kinda lost here. I see very little level 6 consensus on the net except for death spell, but I don't know what the big deal is with that one.

L7
Limited Wish (one of my favorite spells)
Khelben's Warding Whip
Project Image
Finger of Death
Mordenkainen's Sword

L8
Abi-Dalzim's Horrid Wilting
Pierce Shield
Summon Fiend
Spell Trigger
Power Word: Blind

L9
Time Stop
Wish (my other favorite spell)
Spellstrike
Chain Contingency

Comments