Skip to content

*SPOILER ALERT* BG2EE Wild Surge for PC (Conjurer) when using Special Ability Slow Poison

I am just beginning Chapter 2 of BG2EE with my player character, and I went to Neera's Wilderness area. I fought the talking snake, which poisoned Rasaad. I used the special ability of CHARNAME to slow poison, and when I did, a Wild Surge (Held) occurred!

I doubt this was intended behavior, particularly since it was an ability not a spell...but I suppose it could be possible that the Wilderness area is supposed to cause everything to Wild Surge? It at least seemed like a bug to me...

Save attached. Scroll up the log a small amount in the message window to see that CHARNAME, a conjurer, used the Slow Poison ability, which resulted in a Wild Surge!

Comments

• EmptinessEmptiness Member Posts: 238
    It would be nice if the Bhaalspawn abilities circumvented Surge events and Antimagic - but they don't. I believe that they also functioned in this way in the original BG2 (although of course the specific area you were in didn't exist before EE).
  • butsambutsam Member Posts: 46
    Surge events were supposed to occur for a character that is *NOT* a wild mage??? (The main character is *not* a wild mage, but it happened when the main character did an ability.)

Is this a property of the area, or is this a property in general in BG2EE? It certainly didn't work that way for Conjurers in BG2....
  • Avenger_teambgAvenger_teambg Member, Developer Posts: 5,862
    In a place with talking snakes, you cannot be surprised by wild surges!
    It is debatable if the bhaalspawn powers are subject of surges, they are closer to divine than arcane.

booinyoureyes
  • FoggyFoggy Member Posts: 297