Skip to content

Evil SCS party - arcane caster dilemma?

Hi,
I'm new to SCS (about 2/3 through chapter 2 with my "good" party) and of course I'm already pondering the next evil run. Good I'm playing CHARNAME sorcerer so I don't really want a mage type again.

Must-have: Dorn and Hexxat (not that I like them but I want to see their ToB content at least once, did SoA in another run but now I'm hooked on SCS so I don't really want to complete it).

Party setup could be something like:

CHARNAME Dark Moon nun (haven't had a full run with one yet, Hexxat romance)
Korgan
Dorn
Hexxat (maybe keepered to assassin or shadowdancer)
Viconia
Edwin

To those of you with SCS experience: will it be possible to finish the game without a second arcane caster, paladin and druid as anti-mage force? Core rules for now...

With 2 characters with detect illusion plus Viconia true seeing plus later thief hood and maybe the gem from Rasaad quest I think I can manage vs. illusion type spells. But taking down defenses with just Edwin seems daunting and the party is a bit magic-light for SCS I think... Or just trust your monk magic resistance and play spellbait till they run out? Poison weapon penetrates stoneskin AFAIK. Also PfMW / Mantle-type spells? If so it seems feasible...

Alternative 1: Fi/Cl CHARNAME, throw out Viconia and put in Neera or Imoen?

Alternative 2: Throw out Korgan and replace him by a caster? Maybe Haer? But since enemies dispel so much in SCS and take down buffs all the time I'm afraid he'd be killed all the time since he's weak as a kitten without his buffs. That's also what stops me from considering a CHARNAME blade for now. Dorn isn't exactly a super-tank either and potions of fortitude will be dispelled as well...

Any thoughts and suggestions?

Comments

• ArchaosArchaos Member Posts: 1,421
    edited January 2014