Skip to content

New to BG1 - Party set up/dual classing.

Hey guys I'm new to BG1 but i've played BG2 quite alot during my teenage years. Can you give me some advice regarding party set up and dual classing.

I'm thinking this time round, i'm going to roll a human fighter/thief dual class.

What level would you recommend i should dual class and weapon proficiency i should take.

Also thinking my party set up would be:

Kaigan - tank
Minsc - bruiser
Viconia - healer
Edwin - mage

6th character slot could be Imoen thief/mage or a ranger npc.

What do you guys think? Also what should my alignment/reputation be to keep my party from leaving?

I bought the enhanced edition from steam, could i port the saved game over to BG2?

I'm sorry for so many unstructured questions, i'm just listing them as they pop into my head.

And as always, thanks for all the help/advice.

Comments

• KidCarnivalKidCarnival Member Posts: 3,747
    You have one good aligned NPC with a class that will fall if your rep is too low. So I'd rather switch out Minsc for Dorn or Shar-Teel as damage dealer.

I think Fighter/Thief is more fun as a multiclass. With dualing, you are restricted to human and miss out on racial extras like thief skills or 19 dex... So I'd probably multiclass an evil halfling F/T here. If you take a kitted thief (i.e. assassin for poison weapon), it takes a while to max the neccessary skills, so you dual late and spend half the game regaining your levels. I don't mind if an NPC is a bit of a drag, but charname shouldn't have a long downtime, if any. Just my preference.
    For an evil thief and ranged fighter - Shar-Teel. She can dual to thief without a tome, and makes a mean backstabber with her strength. Get her early, give her the next pip in a ranged weapon of choice; before that, she can use throwing daggers quite efficiently.

Kagain - tank
    Dorn - damage
    Viconia - divine
    Edwin - arcane
    Shar-Teel - thief/ranged