Skip to content

Should I skip BG 1 to BG2?

This has been going on in my mind for quite a while now. I have been playing BG1 for two days and I still can't grasp the experience. The party members annoy me, the villains are too hard to kill, and the exploration is just not that engaging to me. Every time I go to the Nashkel Mines my whole groups gets ambushed and killed. I try to gain experience but that eventually led me to get killed over and over again. I REALLY WANT TO ENJOY IT! But I just can't.

Before I started playing the game, I felt the need to play around with BG2 first. I was so intrigued with the game since I was able to have conversations with my companions, cast lots of spells, level up, and so forth. After watching the scene with Irenicus killing a bunch of fighters and mages, I felt that it was necessary to continue my journey by just playing the sequel.

Should I play through the first one first or not?

Comments

• ChildofBhaal599ChildofBhaal599 Member Posts: 1,781
    it will be good to get to know the spells and abilities of the classes slowly from level 1 rather than going straight into learning everything in BG2. I seem to remember dying some hundred or so times on my first ever BG1 playthrough, but now I can no reload it and need difficulty mods to enjoy myself.